The South Los Angeles Transit Empowerment Zone (SLATE-Z) is now a federal Promise Zone!


On June 6, 2016, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Deputy Secretary Nani Coloretti visited Los Angeles Trade Technical College (LATTC) to announce that South Los Angeles won a federal Promise Zone designation in the third round of the competition. The event was attended by Mayor Eric Garcetti, elected officials who represent the area (including Congresswomen Karen Bass, Lucille Roybal-Allard, and Maxine Waters, Supervisors Mark Ridley-Thomas and Hilda Solis, Council President Herb Wesson, Councilmembers Marqueece Harris-Dawson and Curren Price, and School Board Member Dr. George McKenna), more than 100 community partners working in South Los Angeles, and residents – including students from the Coalition for Responsible Community Development’s YouthBuild Charter Academy.

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Announcement

President Barack Obama’s comments on the Promise Zone:

So today, we’re announcing the third and final round of nine new Promise Zone designations. Congratulations to Nashville, South Los Angeles, Atlanta, Evansville, San Diego, Spokane Tribe of Indians in Washington, Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians, North Dakota, Southwest Florida, and Puerto Rico’s Ceiba, Fajardo, and Naguado Municipalities. Each of these Promise Zones is prepared to do what it takes to strengthen their communities and lift people’s lives. And we’re going to be your partner every step of the way.

For more information:


  • Sign up to receive SLATE-Z Newsletter

    * = required field